Home > Mobile Phones > iPhone 3Gs – The honest review

iPhone 3Gs – The honest review

Hello and welcome to 2010 – the year we hopefully get more bandwidth in SA. We ended 2010 with me all excited after getting my Nokia N97 32GB, the phone is amazing and has some really cool features that makes it well worth the buy and at half the price of an iPhone 3Gs makes it just that much more exciting.

I decided that I have been pretty harsh on the iPhone and took the bold step to get myself the new 3GS. The first thing that gets you is the cost at double the price of the N97 and even if you’re on contract it is still at least a R5 000 pay in even on a business contract.

Is the cost justified?
I’m not sure, I’ve jailbroken it this morning but the jailbreak is not perfect so everytime I need to restart the phone I have to basically jailbreak it again. Which sucks because you would jailbreak it and then while chilling at home try to mod a few things using cydia.

After you install stuff through cydia you are asked to restarted the phone and off course the phone starts in receovery mode and you pretty much can’t do crap with it.

Trying to get Blackra1n to work was a pain as well. You find the software easy enough on the net but then once installed trying to get cydia, rock and snow to download on your 3g is a real pain. After hours of trying it finally just downloads and the best part I have no idea what I did.

So far it’s been a pain – the guys at the office love it and yes it still have the cool factor but if it cannot function as intended it is a waste to me. So I will put it to the test and see what I can come with.

Will let you know how it turns out and include the softlinks soon.

Categories: Mobile Phones Tags: ,
  1. 23/01/2010 at 4:31 pm

    Thanks for this information. My sister has been wondering about this topic for a while.

  2. 27/01/2010 at 4:14 pm

    I love the iphone. Just that my bank will not release an app for my online banking. It really sucks.

  3. 09/02/2010 at 10:04 pm

    great blog! there should be a bit more such good articles on the net?

  4. 12/02/2010 at 3:13 pm

    What do you think of the iphone? personally i think its great but sometimes can be fiddly lol. especially as i have bigger fingers haha. anyways great blog by the way. so glad i found it.

  5. 16/02/2010 at 4:54 am

    I learned about the Apple Ipad. Is it going to replace the Imac?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

