Home > Mobile Phones > BlackBerry Curve 8900 (Javelin) on VodafoneSA

BlackBerry Curve 8900 (Javelin) on VodafoneSA

BlackBerry Curve 8900 (Javelin)

BlackBerry Curve 8900 (Javelin)

While I wait on my Touch Pro to get un-bricked (hopefully) I got myself the BlackBerry Curve 8900. I must confess that I have never been a fan of BlackBerry just because the BIS (BlackBerry Internet Solution) seemed like a way of RIM (Research In Motion) making more money of us poor saps.

Anyhow I finally just asked the guys to explain it to me. In my honest opinion I think the guy bullshitted me for about 60% of the conversation, but he did explain how BIS works.

BIS gives you access to unlimited browsing and email basically most types of internet connections, you know Facebook, Twitter and even MXit. For a guy like me that is amazing. If you live in South Africa you can get the unlimited internet for R59 per month if you’re on pre-paid or R69 per month if you’re on contract.

Anyway I signed up and have been using the phone now for a day or so. I have to tell you that owning a BlackBerry has a certain cool factor to it. It’s kinda like the feeling you get owning an iPhone, gives your ego the impression that you are the man!

But as you know I am not just about ego’s. Form should always follow function and so here’s what I have seen so far with the BlackBerry Curve 8900.

Overall the phone is great and has great features with it. Riding of my last mobile, the N96 featured a 5mp camera, the BB (BlackBerry) 8900 features a 3.2mp camera. Yet don’t dismiss it, the quality of the pictures are excellent. I am certain the only time you will have a problem is when there is poor lighting conditions. Also using a phone wide screen is a new experience as well. By Wide Screen I mean the phone is designed with a longer length than breath which is great.

It comes with a 1gig SD Memory Card and after 5 minutes I bought my own 16gig and put that in. I was told that is as high as it goes. Which is great and matches up nicely with the top end Nokia’s and HTC’s. Plenty of space for my music and movies. The desktop manager has a nice little feature of converting your movies for you. If you are like me and have a collection of movies that you like having on your mobile just incase you’re stuck in traffic or whatever, you know you’ll never be bored.

I am pretty comfortable with the QWERTY keyboard and most people would be even if you have never used one before. There is also this really cool feature where your you can specify the way your phone reacts when it is in the carry case. Yip the BlackBerry can detect if it is in your carry case or not and so when it’s sitting in your pocket at the mall in the carry case, you can tell the phone to vibrate so you know it’s ringing but if it’s lying on your desk you can cimply tell it to ring out loud. I thought this was pretty cool.

Ok the not so cool stuff:

1. NO 3G – What were BlackBerry thinking? The guys at the shop tried to convince me about how GPRS on the 8900 works just as fast and I’ll never notice the difference and blah blah blah blah. The truth of the matter is, 3G is 3G and if you spend alot of time browsing they you need to make a cll on whether the 8900 is for you. You have to decide on when you browse what is more important, speed or amount of bandwidth? If you need speed surfing the net, this is not it. Don’t be mistaken though, for the time I have had the phone, the GPRS works well and and downloads at an ok speed.

2. Getting your email to work – BlackBerry were the first company to bring email to mobile phones and generally when you get a BlackBerry you are getting so that you are always connected. I have been struggling and struggling now and have had no luck. Vodafone eForum has been trying to assist me but email communition between different countries has it’s own time issues. If your company does not have a BES (BlackBerry Enterprize Server) I am afraid you are going to end up having trouble like me. Let’s hope by Monday I resolve the email issues.

3. Interface Styling – the main interface is awesome you seem some really clean graphics and nice icons and so forth but once you get in there it becomes very poor. The options menu is just a black and while list of words, which is horrible to look at, functionally it works but asthesically it is terrible. Likewise for the messages (SMS / MMS) the layout is very poor with no ability to change anything. The main interace also has a line of icons by default similar to the Nokia N series however on the BlackBerry I have not been able to change the icons.

That’s all the bad I could see so far. Guys again I have to say that the 3 bad things above will differ from person to person. Many people have no idea what 3G is and so it will make no difference to them and so forth which is why I have to give the BlackBerry Curve 8900 my thumbs up. It’s great and with such cool features it’s easy to see why I am blown away.

All BlackBerry have to do now is throw in 3G, Video Calling, Modify the Rom with better lower lever interface and pick up the camera and damn, the competitors are going to cry.

Final Note – For those of you who say get the Storm for 3G, have you even seen how that touch screen works? Go see before you comment.

Cheers

  1. 18/11/2009 at 7:47 pm

    Just want to tell you thanks for all the great info found on your site, even helped me with my work recently 🙂 keep it up!

  2. Reimar
    20/01/2010 at 10:38 pm

    Hey I agree with you however the Bold 9000 comes with 3G and a faster processor but a 2 MP camera (the new release will resolve this.
    My only gripe is the phone does not ring long enough before going onto voicemail – if you have it on you that is ok but if it is more than four or five meters away I find that it has become a missed call – then maybe I just move too slow.
    I have owned a Touch Diamond and a Tytan II and must admit a youch screen is not for me – The BB is the best phone for me!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

